Skip to content
Brandon Weasenforth, LCSW

Brandon Weasenforth, LCSW


Licensed in NY #092997
Insurances Accepted: Aetna, Cigna/Evernorth
I provide support, knowledge, and guidance to help clients address issues, resolve barriers, explore identity, and achieve growth.

My Therapy Style

My methods of practice include an eclectic mix of Psychodynamic therapy, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Mindfulness-based practices, and conflict resolution. Through these modalities, I provide support, knowledge, and guidance to help clients address issues, resolve barriers, explore identity, and achieve growth.

Education & Training

MSW - Social Work, California University of Pennsylvania

Get to Know Me

Why did you become a mental health professional?

I come from a rural town in Western Pennsylvania where there were not many resources for people who identified as queer, people of color, or those from different places and cultures. In social work, we are taught to identify and address service gaps and I could clearly see, all around me, the need for resources directed toward these communities. From there, I decided to specialize in providing services to my own community, so I made the jump to New York City with the goal of serving as many people within the queer community as possible. And here I am!

What are your interests outside of work?

When I'm not working I enjoy traveling with my partner, playing video games, reading some good science fiction, and engaging in community building.

What is one thing you do daily that supports your well-being?

I wouldn't get anywhere without my morning routine. Some light reading or writing, a cup of something warm, and getting some sun always allows me to start the day off with positivity.

What book have you read more than once?

I have probably re-read The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky more than any other book. I was assigned the novel in a high school English class, and the misunderstood outcast of a teenager I was really connected with the characters and story. It was set in Pittsburgh, which is the closest city to my home town in Pennsylvania, and was also the first time I read a novel with a queer character, something I didn't think happened back then.

Favorite organization/non-profit?

I never skip a chance to highlight The Okra Project — a national mutual aid fund that supports black trans individuals by removing barriers to needed resources within the community.

How do you recharge?

In a busy city like New York, it really helps to unplug from all of the noise. While there is so much to do here, sometimes staying in and disconnecting from crowds, phones, and overall chaos is a great way to prioritize my needs, think a bit more clearly, and move forward feeling more grounded and renewed.

Do you have any pets?

My family includes a 3 year old Frenchie named Gemma. We rescued her in January of 2023 after a failed re-homing. She is so smart, loving, and protective. I'll always remember the first time she talked back to us — if you are familiar with the breed you know they can be quite vocal!