Skip to content
Alexandra Helfer, LPC

Alexandra Helfer, LPC

She/her

Licensed in CT #2450
Insurances Accepted: Aetna, Cigna/Evernorth
I believe that therapy is just one step along the path to a healthy mental and physical life.

My Therapy Style

I am a cisgender white female who has been in the mental health field for over 15 years. I have primarily worked with substance use disorders and co-occurring disorders such as depression and anxiety. I have a passion for working with adults to help them achieve the life they want (and to help them identify what that is). I work mainly from a person-centered approach with a trauma-informed lens (meeting people where they are) and believe that therapy is just one step along the path to a healthy mental and physical life. I take a special interest in family of origin and childhood experiences affecting long-term behavior.

Education & Training

MS - Counselor Education, Western Connecticut State University

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor

Get to Know Me

Why did you become a mental health professional?

I experienced first-hand the benefits of therapy at a young age and how it can improve an entire family system. I knew I wanted to be a part of that for others.

What are your interests outside of work?

Outside of my professional life, I enjoy cooking, reading, lap swimming, lying by the pool, going to new restaurants with my husband, and making playlists.

What is one thing you do daily that supports your well-being?

I move my body. I aim for 30 minutes a day or more of any kind of movement: swimming, yoga, walking my dog, etc.

What book have you read more than once?

The Little Prince. I find a new meaning within it each time I read it. It is my favorite book to give to new parents—for both the children's and the parent's benefit

Favorite organization/non-profit?

Red Cross - I am an avid blood donor and donate every 60 days. I think it is one of the easiest ways (and doesn't cost anything) to give back and help others.

How do you recharge?

I sleep! Sleep is very important to me and I am cognizant of my sleep routine and sleep hygiene.

Do you have any pets?

I have two pets. Waffles, a 5-year-old cattle dog/mix rescue and Kanye, a 7-year-old rescue cat who likes to terrorize Waffles.